The church in the middle of the town dates back to 1180 and is a grade 1 listed building. Once belonging to the great parish of Simonburn, it became a separate entity in 1650. It was laid to waste during the border wars with Scotland and then neglected. In the 1660’s it was almost entirely rebuilt, with its almost unique stone barrel roof, in which cannonballs were found during restoration.
Well worth a visit for its historical character. Of interest in the churchyard is the 'Long Pack' grave of a would be house-breaker who was killed by the butler of the house he was trying to rob.
OS Ref: NY 838 833